Skip to main content

Honorary degree recipients

Mount Holyoke College began to award honorary degrees in 1894. These degrees celebrate the work of notable alumnae as well as others who have achieved distinction in the arts and humanities, politics and the law, the sciences, social work and education. Recipients include Jane Addams, Maya Angelou, Virginia Apgar, Glenn Close, Rosa Parks, Frances Perkins, Princess Juliana of the Netherlands, Wendy Wasserstein and United States President William McKinley.

Honorary degrees are usually presented during Commencement ceremonies at the College. The degrees most often given are Doctor of Laws (L.L.D.), Doctor of Letters (Litt.D.), Doctor of Science (Sc.D.), Doctor of Humane Letters (L.H.D), Doctor of Fine Arts (D.F.A.), Doctor of Civil Law (D.C.L.) and Doctor of Music (Mus.D.).